ORDINARY BUMMER

by heytherewildflower

*(he wanted only not to want)

I claim in the last hour of this known hysterical breathing,
that I have nothing to give but a signature of wind,
my type-written handwriting configuring the past.

To the boy with no news of my bound and bountiful kin,
I offer twelve loaves of bread. Governed by hunger,
he wanted only not to want. What is the future

beyond a premonition? What is the past
beyond desire? To my brother, I leave a new suit, a tie
made of silk and shoes with unscuffed bottoms.

To the mirror, water; to the water, a book with no pages,
the auother’s young face printed on the spine.
I wanted children taller than any man on earth.

If everyone was like me, I said to the mirror.
To my lover, I leave enough stories to fill an evening.
Enough sleep to walk from one coast to another

without pause.

-Terrance Hayes

FUCK TODAY.