SLUT SHAMING.

by heytherewildflower

13 year old breaks it down.

and, now, why’ll I am feeling high and mighty on my horse, and self righteous,

a rant.

I am so fucking bored of conventional y2k beauty standards. I sorta even miss the beauty standard from the 90s, even though that beauty standard was EXTREMELY homogenous, at least it was more or less a healthy one of healthy AMERICAN-ness. which is not necessarily a bad thing.

Now to give this rant a little pointedness, I am not talking about standards of beauty amongst models, nor am I talking about standards of beauty as in WEIGHT, I am talking beautiful people in the 21st century and their faces and what their faces look like, according to us, as a mass of beauty judges.

ITS SO FUCKING BORING.  big-ish eyes, centered, likely green or blue, but at least light brown or yellow-ish, if anything, and modern cat-eye sort of makeup, we’re veering away from the oily tans…so rosy cheeked or sun kissed and creamy is our shit these days, ski jump nose, perfect teeth, plumped lips with a fatter lower lip (more or less standard sized), heart shaped, cheek bones, jaw line, symmetrical. average forehead size. all features, fine, eyebrows defined, but not thin, present but not a presence. some freckles are acceptably cute. hair usually dyed. must by shiny, groomed, with body, but not perfectly coifed.

I mean, to fit this standard of beauty its like you have to obliterate anything about your face that makes it unique or interesting to look at.

For instance, I had braces for a year. then retainer. those things are gross. I got a boyfriend and then ditched it forever. now I have gap teeth. I have a big forehead. I have a long face.  my eyes are wide set. I have freckles (although this is not so noticeable in the middle of winter). My nose is not small. These are all flaws technically, according to the 21st century standard.

DId it ever occur to people that the reason Europeans are so much cooler and more beautiful than us (seemingly) is because they’re way better at working what they got? I don’t mean WORKING WITH, I mean WORKING.

I LOVE my gapteeth. love. I love my freckles. I love my long ass face. I love my bigish nose. I like to accentuate the gapteeth with lipstick. and I never cover my freckles. genuinely enjoy exacerbating the alien effect of a long face and wide set eyes. If I could get my face to be longer and my eyes to be farther apart, I would so totally do it. I am not a makeup queen, but I wear white on the insides of my eyes and black cat eye-ish stuff on the outsides so to achieve this optical illusion sometimes. Really, beauty is about being comfortable with yourself and being able to accentuate and appropriately set and light your unique features so they’ll stand out. That should be the purpose of your beauty regime. according to me, beauty expert. (ha! not really.) (but REALLY! I MEAN IT!)

I didn’t always love my freckles. When I was living in China a mean boy bully called me “freckle face” and it sucked. In highschool, I got mocked frequently by boys and told I was ugly for my long face. big forehead. etc. Nobody ever mocked me for my nose, but personally, I struggled with my loathing for it for most of high school. The gapteeth was a conscious decision…at first I wasn’t in to it…but I chose love over perfect teeth and I don’t take it back and I STILL DON’T! I grew to love my gap. Then Lara Stone came along and made it all ok! yay! thanks Lara for making me cool!

(the model posted above is NOT Lara Stone. She is Abbey Lee Kershaw one of the many in the horde of gapteethed models that followed Lara.) (WE prevail!!!)

In my opinion, something beautiful is something that is both appealing and interesting to look at, or smell, or taste, or listen to, or touch. or third eye- SENSE.

which is not always something pretty.

and I am bored with ski jump noses and blah makeup and blah hair and no style and NO WILL to style. and fear to stand as an individual WITH A HONKER and an attitude and snaggle tooths! or a limp! or a mole!

and some people mock the cute and feminine retro hipster girls for doing their bangs and their black hair (Even if the black hair happens for them just to make their eyes look brighter like zooey deschanel). but whatever! at least it’s something! girls who wear gothy shit and japanese anime noir! its all cool with me as long as its something other than long hair, the hip pop, big straight white teeth smile, jeans, boots, sweatersets, yoga pants, sheer shit? and whatever the kids are wearing these days. I hear its urban outfitters, but I should refrain from mockery  and thereby refrain from being a CUNT since I did buy some tights there the other day and I do love them.

What I am saying is, cultivate yourself, cultivate a style that both fits you and stems from your uniqueness and FUCKING GO FOR IT with your YOUR YOUR beauty.

fuck you los angeles. FUCK YOU. you are the origin of all this!

if there was ever a slut in the whole wide earth, ITS YOU.

Take me to Roma where the word is SEX. I feel comfortable there.