To the humans of the soon to be graduating class of 2012:

by heytherewildflower

This is how I feel about the year since my graduation,

It. Happened.

It was hard.

I learned more about myself,  my relationship to the world, and  to other humans in the past year than I did in all my 4 years at college combined. Without the support of Sam and Eric and the unconditional (and at times, somewhat rocky) support of my family, I feel I could’ve been rightfully committed. Maybe this is a melodramatic statement, or Maybe this is me selling myself short (which I believe is the post-graduate Human Condition). Probably the latter. Probably both.

If we want to get literary about it, I’ve felt like Pip cast off the Pequod, over and over. I still feel like Pip, but perhaps Pip hauled aboard spouting beautiful nonsense. I try to make it sound beautiful at least.

Of all the characters in Moby-Dick, an argument can be made that Pip is one of the most important. Bright and goodnatured, Pip survives a most terrible event, and is obviously never the same after he is left behind to confront the infinite indifference of the ocean, and of the world. (credit)

“The sea had jeeringly kept his finite body up, but drowned the infinite of his soul. Not drowned entirely, though. Rather carried down alive to wondrous depths, where strange shapes of the unwarped primal world glided to and fro before his passive eyes; and the miser-merman, Wisdom, revealed his hoarded heaps; and among the joyous, heartless, ever-juvenile eternities, Pip saw the multitudinous, God-omnipresent, coral insects, that out of the firmament of waters heaved the colossal orbs. He saw God’s foot upon the treadle of the loom, and spoke it; and therefore his shipmates called him mad. So man’s insanity is heaven’s sense; and wandering from all mortal reason, man comes at last to that celestial thought, which, to reason, is absurd and frantic; and weal or woe, feels then uncompromised, indifferent as his God.” -HM

~

Good luck, I love you.