Songs to Teach Your Infant

by heytherewildflower

mistreated-tiger-in-indonesian-zoo-data

Songs to Teach Your Infant

They grew inside me like worms in a watermelon,
Buoys bobbing in a bathtub – logs lolling on the froth.
I was host to mutant coconuts. Dragons in the deep
of my intestines. Stalactite and stalagmite growing drip
by drip.

I did not want it. I did not know it. I knew
how to be kept by men who feed me meat.
Staring with brown eyes, blue eyes, grey eyes.

White striped blood boogers born legs first, head last.
Less than 1,000 grams of weight. Eyes closed. Totally helpless.

The fur on my belly pulsing, opened like an anus.
Pushed out an opulent ruptured eyeball through
which the black bean paws twitched and kicked.

Raspberry crushed fur opened around the
translucent pickled onion inside of which
sloshed a blood orange martini of tiny claws.

I contort to tear the sack with my barbed tongue
(clearing the windpipe) (clearing the earways)
The cub squirms blindly like a golden grub.

Her toothless head swiveling agape like an old man
enduring night terrors or a disease he does not understand.

Wet cub stumbling, eyes closed, as if emerging from a cave –
or a coma. Dry cub moving in for the suckle.

I recall suckling – ingesting the other, the heat of it –
thick, sappy, sweet loam from the body I sprung from.

I wanted to sleep. I wanted to eat. I could eat them,
but they seem so small, sniffing me like I’m the feast.

These creatures crawled out of me. They escaped beneath
my tail – which opened like the black mouth of a thing
that had been punched more than once.

The law states that every motion elicits an equal and opposite reaction. The magnitude of both forces are equal – but have opposite directions. But these are the laws dictated by men, as all laws are in the age that precedes my mother.

The things weaken. Especially the second thing.
She came after her brother, who was first.
He took suckle from me and became larger.
Coming a second after, she shrivels faster.

Should I teach them to grovel? I’ve learned how.
I learned how to fester in the blood of my mother.
I remember she was a hunter. She never taught me
how to hunt because first she was bested by a better
hunter.