The Blue Tiger Theory

by heytherewildflower

maltese-tigers-2

The Blue Tiger Theory

Chinchilla gene~

Could the mythical Maltese tiger exist? As of yet,
she is scientifically unproven. Academia does not
confirm our existence. I haunt them so.

Some say they hunted us to extinction. Did I ever exist?
Such extinction that makes even our renegade gene extinct.
Mutant – mythical creature – coloration morph – ghost.

I am a myth some hunters choose to believe in.
She haunts them as they hunt for us – telling tales
of “breathless accounts of NEAR CAPTURE”.

They name coffee shops and software updates after her.
I FUEL THEM as they write codes with me to recreate
a universe that is useless to us.

They can’t agree upon the colors she is. Each one
paints us different. And they can’t decide how
the stripes render on me, either.

We disappear. That means her gene is working.

Slate blue, salt blue, a delicate shade of Maltese
cast with bluish-gray stripes, and Russian blue too,
blue as the blue of an ancient faded ink stain.

According to wikipedia, we belong firmly
to cryptozoology. Classification: hybrid/other.

I disappear. She can’t die if we don’t exist.

—-
NOTE: DAVE MASON HAS A CONNECTION TO SOMEONE WHO LIVES IN THIS AREA AND STUDIES INDONESIAN MYTHOLOGY. THIS PERSON WILL HELP YOU EDIT THIS POEM WHEN YOU NEED IT.